The Swan Harp

$22.99

Category

Release date: April 2, 2024 – Preorders will ship before wide release!

Description

The enthralling, suspenseful, and magical first book in the Wings of Valenia fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Holly Black, and Robin McKinley.

 

I was Father’s heir now, and one day I’d be queen. But when I looked at Mother, Adana, and Orla and imagined flying, somehow the thought of being queen didn’t comfort me.

As next in line to the throne, Kiar will be responsible for protecting the human kingdom of Valenia. The middle of three daughters of King Tir and Queen Tianas, a woman of the swanfolk, Kiar is devastated when her sisters are able to take swan form and she is not.

When three young swanfolk arrive to be fostered in the royal family, her friendship with spirited Willow and growing feelings for tall, thoughtful Tuan make her feel even more different. Her inability to change shape is not the only problem Kiar faces; the king of neighboring Noermark is determined to bring Valenia under his rule, either by force or by guile. He sends his son to ask for her hand in marriage.

Facing down a human enemy is one thing, but when dark magic threatens the kingdom and tragedy pulls the family apart, it’s up to Kiar and her swanfolk friends to defeat the supernatural forces before Valenia falls.

 

“Elizabeth Creith is an exciting new voice in fantasy fiction, creating with The Swan Harp, an entire new world full of beautiful, fragile and powerful creatures, as yet unseen anywhere. You’ll stay for the magic, but you’ll live for the story.” — Susie Moloney, author of The Dwelling, A Dry Spell, and The Thirteen

“Family, betrayal, tragedy—there is so much to love about this exciting coming of age fantasy! The Swan Harp has the resonance of the old tales, with a heart we expect from the best stories of today.” — Anita Daher, actor and author of You Don’t Have to Die in the End

“A spellbinding fantasy romance…

The human and swanfolk cultures united in harmony through the marriage of King Tir and Queen Tianis created an intriguing foundation for worldbuilding within the story’s introduction. I loved diving into the swanfolk’s culture and seeing how the transformative magic intertwined with Kiar’s story, creating tension and suspense… Princess Kiar bears the weight of the kingdom on her young shoulders. With many lessons to learn, Kiar has to prove that she has the strength to rule and make difficult decisions, especially when the most ominous threat comes from the least expected place. 

I recommend The Swan Harp to readers who enjoy slow burn fantasy romance, shapeshifting magic, medieval fantasy settings, and subtle political intrigue.” —Reedsy Discovery

“When her sisters Adana and Orla both gain the ability to transform into swans like their mother, Kiar feels left out. As Princess of Valenia, she will inherit the kingdom from her father King Tir—but becoming queen is nothing compared to the ability to fly. This feeling intensifies when her family fosters three cygnets and it turns out that Orla is a black swan, a once-in-a-century phenomenon with powerful magic… An uneasy peace with the neighboring kingdom of Noermark hangs in the balance as its King begins to make attempts to take over, by marriage if not by force. Every decision the young queen in waiting makes must balance the needs of all her subjects, human and swanfolk alike.” —IndieReader

Also Available at:

Amazon

Indigo

Barnes & Noble

Bookshop.org

Get a FREE short story or excerpt by joining our mailing list today!

Subscribe below